Danish dropped, Dharamvir, Manpreet back in Indian hockey team for New Zealand tour

first_imgExperienced midfielder Danish Mujtaba was on Wednesday dropped from the Indian hockey team selected for the Test tour of New Zealand while Dharamvir Singh, Manpreet Singh and Nikkin Thimmaiah made a comeback to the squad.The team was picked out of the 26 probables announced on August 31. While Dharamvir and Manpreet have returned to the side following their recovery from injuries, they replaced Mujtaba and Talwinder Singh. On the other hand, Nikkin, who was dropped for the tour of Europe in August, will replace Mohd. Amir Khan in the forward line of the 21-member experimental squad.Also read: Gurbaj to move court against Hockey India ban “Yes, you can say that Danish has not been picked for the tour. We are trying out different combinations. Of course, our main aim is the Olympics but we are also preparing for the Hockey World League (HWL) Final,” India chief coach Roelant Oltmans said.Not just the midfield but Oltmans, who is Hockey India’s (HI) high performance director as well, has also selected as many as four penalty corner specialists — Rupinder Pal Singh, V.R. Raghunath, Jasjit Singh Kular and Gurjinder Singh — for the October 2-11 tour of New Zealand.”We have to try out new combinations and new forms of execution to give the team the best possible chance,” Oltmans said.India will will play four Test matches against the Black Sticks on October 6, 7 (both in Nelson), 9 and 11 (both in Christchurch). They will also play two practice games on October 2 and 3 against New Zealand A in Auckland.advertisementThe squad was selected post a three-week preparatory camp at the Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium here. The team will as usual be led by Sardar Singh with goalkeeper P.R. Sreejesh as his deputy.The squadGoalkeepers: P.R. Sreejesh (vice-captain), Harjot Singh.Defenders: Birendra Lakra, Kothajit Singh, V.R. Raghunath, Jasjit Singh Kular, Rupinder Pal Singh, Gurjinder Singh.Midfielders: Sardar Singh (captain), Chinglensana Singh, S.K. Uthappa, Satbir Singh, Devinder Walmiki, Manpreet Singh, Dharamvir Singh.Forwards: S.V. Sunil, Ramandeep Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Lalit Upadhyay, Nikkin Thimmaiah.last_img read more